Halong Bay is bordered by the city of Ha Long, Cam Pha Town and the Van Don Island District, belonging to Quang Ninh province. The Bay has been recognized by UNESCO as a World Natural Heritage site, and also been voted one of the “New 7 Natural Wonders of the World”.

Located in Gulf of Tokin of Vietnam, it spans 1,553 square kilometres and includes 1,969 islands of various sizes. The  limestone and schist islands are concentrated in two main zones –  Bai Tu Long Bay in the southeast, and Halong Bay in the southwest. This densely concentrated area of stone islands is world famous for its spectacular scenery of grottoes and caves.

The best way to enjoy the full panoramic vista of Halong Bay is through a scenic flight. On the light seaplane, or by helicopter, you can see the wonder of the limestone karsts and caves from on high, and take in the majestic scale of the entire region. Haiau Aviation (www.seaplanes.vn) offers 25-minute excursions, flying leisurely at around 300m above sea level, to allow you to have a bird’s eye view of the famous landscapes of Halong Bay. These include: Dau Go Cave (Hang Đầu Gỗ),Tuan Chau Island (Đảo Tuần Châu) and many other beautiful formations.

Although this tour is at the higher end of activities available in Halong, it is by far the most impressive trip you can enjoy. Why not book a Halong tour, and sample this once in a lifetime experience for yourself? These images were taken by the pilot, Pham Duy Long, one of three Vietnamese pilots who offers commercial seaplane flights in Vietnam.












Source : Vietnamnet

About The Author

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.